Meet the Candidates on May 3

Apr 14, 2018 | Uncategorized

MIC volunteers are confirming candidates for the Candidates Forum on May 3rd at the South Cobb Community Center in Mableton. Doors open at 6:30 with the program beginning at 7pm. MIC is partnering with the Austell Community Taskforce on this important Election Year event. The Primary Election is May 22nd and its purpose is to select the Democratic and Republican Party candidates for the General Election in November. Here is a list of candidates for the Mableton/Riverside area State Senate, State House, and Cobb County School Board races:

Georgia State Senate – District 33 

Michael Rhett (D) (I)


Georgia State Senate – District 38

Horacena Tate (D) (I)

Gabriel Lavine (D)

Travis Klavohn (R)


Georgia State House – District 38

David Wilkerson (D) (I)


Georgia State House – District 39

Erica Thomas (D) (I)

Tray S. Deadwyler (D)

Shelia Edwards (D)

James “J.W.” Morrow Jr. (R)  none available

Victoria Randle (D)


Georgia State House – District 40

Matt Bentley (R)

Taryn Bowman (R)

Erick E. Allen (D)

Sandra Bullock (D)  none available


Cobb County Board of Education – Post 2

Jaha Howard (D)

Angelia Pressley (D)


Compiled with best available information; please contact with any updates/corrections.

The Mableton Improvement Coalition, Inc. is a community-based, nonprofit, non-partisan organization that does not endorse candidates. This information is provided as a public service.